Tour of Duty

Pinoy Transplant in Iowa

I am sitting in an airport terminal in Seoul, waiting for my connecting flight back to the US. I have more than four hours of layover here – plenty of time to reflect on the things I have witnessed and places I have been in the past few days.

As I look around on this beautiful airport in South Korea, its sturdy structure, its opulent stores, the distant city skyscrapers glistening in the morning sun, I noted that all these provide stark contrast to the place I have just come from. It is a place where there was utter destruction everywhere I looked; what was left was a ghostly reminder of a once thriving city.

The place I went to was Tacloban.

We arrived in Tacloban 2 weeks after super typhoon Haiyan (local name Yolanda) basically wiped out the city. After seeing the horrific news of the calamity day after day…

View original post 922 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

