Fasting for the DEC Philippines Campaign

Clare's Food Diary

I am currently more than half way through a 24 hour fast to raise money for the DEC Philippines Campaign and I’m doing pretty good! Feeling pretty hungry but nothing that seems impossible to deal with.

Googling survival tips for fasting proved to be rather terrifying yesterday. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but a whole underbelly of Tumblr devoted to ‘thinspiration’ blogs and teenage girls bragging about how long they can go without food was not it. One of the first posts I saw was a young woman bragging about how she had gone almost 2 days without food and had already lost 5lbs. I’m not sure why I didn’t expect this – I’ve certainly seen and been horrified by websites and blogs glorifying anorexia and other similar illnesses before – but I just got it into my head that the only reason someone would decide to fast…

View original post 337 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

