Tindog Tacloban!

unnamed-1

When typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda hit the Philippines, I was on the island of Biliran, more precisely in Maripipi, almost 60 km from Tacloban, a city now called “ground zero” by the Philippino media.

Due to this geographical proximity, I was able to get to Tacloban very quickly. I was there from November 10th to 13th and 15th to 21st, as well as December 9th to 12th. I will not probably go back there before my departure for Paris then Moscow.

b0a06038605d11e3bfc70a813abf48fe_8

I am not very good at telling stories from a first-person perspective about what I have experienced here: frustration, adrenaline, exhaustion, hunger, thirst.

I am not sure it would even be appropriate; a journalist is no victim. The bodies I have seen are not those of my loved ones, the houses I have stepped on are not mine. Hunger, thirst and exhaustion are only temporary: back in Manila I know…

View original post 1,178 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

