My last day of 2013 – reflections on Typhoon Haiyan (Yolanda) and Tacloban

<UNHCR tents in Tacloban

image_1

image_2

image_3

image_4

image_5

On New Year’s Eve I made my way from Thailand to my friends in Maasin City, Philippines. To get to them, I had to fly into Super Typhoon ravaged Tacloban City. This day, 31 December 2013, will be a day that I will never forget – the scenes of sheer devastation and pain will stay with me. It has been 6 weeks since the disaster, however the scenes are unimaginable. My heart hurts for the people of this beautiful island.

On November 8th 2013, super typhoon Haiyan (or Yolanda as it’s locally known) struck the Philippines. The island of Leyte was worst hit as it was right in the path of the typhoon and it was the first place where the typhoon made land fall. It has affected 12.9 million people in the Philippines (13% of the population) and so far, 4460 people died. It is, according to the…

View original post 1,603 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

