When the Moon is Brighter: My Post-Haiyan Experience

simplicity school

I spent a week in post-Yolanda Panay to be a volunteer writer and researcher for a humanitarian agency. A few days before this, I had felt helpless yet on my toes, thankful yet questioning and sensitive; and like everybody else, I channeled those feelings into packing relief goods. I shed tears so many times then. I had tears for the affected, and tears, too, for the goodness of humanity. Moved by these, I brazenly posted a Facebook status message “advertising” my free services and time for work on rebuilding affected communities. Minutes after, my inbox had a number of invitations to volunteer in Leyte and Samar, but I did not have that kind of courage, so I chose to accept the post in nearby Roxas City.

Northern Iloilo and Capiz might not have caught the attention of the media, but the extent of damage to life and property was also…

View original post 517 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

