WB loans $479M for poverty reduction, Yolanda rehabilitation


February 22, 2014 1:03am

The World Bank has approved a $479 million loan to the Philippine government for the National Community-Driven Development Project (NCDDP), which will benefit 477 poor rural municipalities and areas affected by Typhoon Yolanda.

The loan in on top of the previously pledged $500 million for Yolanda relief and rehabilitation operations.The NCDDP is a community-based approach developed by the World Bank and the Philippine government to improve poverty reduction in poor provinces.

Under the program, communities assess the situation of the families in the area and try to develop a plan and execute solutions to challenges.”More poor communities across the country will be empowered to participate in local planning, budgeting and implementation of community-level projects that help reduce poverty,” the World Bank said in a statemen.

Finance Secretary Cesar V. Purisima, meanwhile, said the WB loan would contribute to the $8 billion needed for Yolanda rehabilitation.”The NCDDP will assist our efforts in the swift reconstruction of disaster-affected areas through financing and implementing community-driven projects,” said Purisima.Projects under the NCDDP include the building of local infrastructure such as water systems, school buildings, day care centers and health stations, as well as roads and bridges. Community members are also responsible for implementation and maintenance of these projects.In Luzon, the NCDDP will target communities in the regions of MIMAROPA (Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan); Cordillera Administrative Region (Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province); Central Luzon (Nueva Ecija); and Bicol (Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate and Sorsogon).

In the Visayas, the project will target the areas of Western Visayas (Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo and Negros Occidental); Central Visayas (Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental and Siquijor); and Eastern Visayas (Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar and Southern Leyte).

In Mindanao, the project will target Northern Mindanao (Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental); SOCCKSARGEN (Cotabato, Sarangani and Sultan Kudarat); Caraga (Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Island, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur); Zamboanga Peninsula (Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay); and Davao (Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental). — DVM, GMA News


Encourage support by leaving a message -

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s