THE PHILIPPINES AFTER YOLANDA – PART 3

Journeys in Medicine

Part 3 (link to part 1 and part 2)

After the first ten days I feel more at ease. Things that looked exotic and strange to me a week ago seem now familiar. The days pass in a predictable pattern and we don’t get called out at night anymore. We usually set up our surgeries the day before which gives me ample time for preparation. Routine kicks in and I can slowly reclaim my comfort zone.

The on-calls are still a bit of a nuisance though. Most patients that are admitted at night have medical conditions which I have forgotten all about and so I have my nose buried deep in the books of medical wisdom every time an asthma or hypertension patients enters the tent. We are five doctors and thus on-call every fifth night and that means we spend 34 hours at the hospital. We are not overwhelmed…

View original post 2,219 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

