This Is Not My Story To Tell

This Filipina Is Conquering Nederland

(This is part of the compilation of the blog Fandom For Philippines (http://fandomforphilippines.wordpress.com/) which was spearheaded by a lovely Dutch colleague for the Philippines after Haiyan. I wrote this piece on December 20, 2013).

This is not my story to tell.

But as a Filipino, I feel the pain that my “kababayans”(countrymen) are feeling right now.

Yolanda, or Haiyan – as she was known globally, came, conquered and left her wrath in that central part of the Philippines: approximately a month and a week before Christmas.

When the news of the devastation aired worldwide, my first thought was “Some of these houses might already have decors set up for Christmas.” A little so far away from the horrors that were about to unfold.

I was thinking about the children. I then found myself hugging my Zoë real tight.

View original post 1,115 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

