Western Samar: A Quickie on the Rocks.

Lou x Raine

Are you free this weekend? Let’s go to Tacloban, I’ll buy you a ticket.

A single text message with “I’ll buy you a ticket” is enough to rouse my restless feet. I found myself preparing for a quick weekend visit to Samar and Tacloban for a relief operations in different areas and groundbreaking ceremony in the Eastern Visayas State University. It was urgent, a short notice. I was told that I’ll be joining the team Thursday night and that we’ll leave Saturday morning. Of course I was excited, I always wanted to go to Tacloban right after the Typhoon because I wanted to directly help the people and see for myself the “zombie land” that social media junkies were saying.

Everything’s set: flights were booked, cams and tripods ready, and the weather was seemingly pleasant. We arrived in Tacloban a little past lunch. I stepped down the plane, into the tarmac…

View original post 528 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

