Luz and her very lovely family – supporting another tailor

Helping hands for Tacloban

Until now I’ve told you mostly about the follow up work I did with Jackie’s beneficiaries.  I met new people though, and I’d like to start telling you about them.  I need to explain though, that I didn’t get the same detail Jackie did on a lot of the people I met.  It was hard to ask questions, have them translated, have the person answer, have the answer translated, make notes and then ask the next question.  It was especially hard when these were incredibly personal questions and it was clear I was assessing whether we would or wouldn’t help.

Personally, I also found it really difficult to see the levels of poverty people were surviving in.  I’ve never seen anything like it before and a lot of the time I was just trying to hold it together, to not react so that people didn’t feel judged by this white…

View original post 676 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

