Pope Francis Prays With Filipino Survivors Of Typhoon — moving, impromptu address unites Pope and Filipinos in hope

Peace and Freedom

TACLOBAN CITY, PhilippinesSat Jan 17, 2015 12:50am EST

(Reuters) – An emotional Pope Francis, wearing a plastic poncho over his vestments to protect him from the wind and rain on Saturday, comforted survivors of Typhoon Haiyan, the Philippines’ worst natural disaster that killed about 6,300 people 14 months ago.

“I would like to tell you something close to my heart,” Francis told worshippers as strong wind whipped the seaside area, putting aside his prepared homily to deliver a moving, impromptu address.

“When I saw from Rome that catastrophe, I felt that I had to be here. On those very days I decided to come here. I am here to be with you. Perhaps a little late, I have to say, but…

View original post 681 more words

Encourage support by leaving a message -

